fifth grade / fourth grade / free tech resources / internet / problem solving / teacher resources / Tech / websites

Weekend Website #1: Jing

Every Friday I’ll send you a wonderful website that my classes and parents love. I think you’ll find they’ll be a favorite of yours as they are of mine.

free screen captureAge:

10 and up

Topic:

Screen capture utility

Address:

Jing

Review:

This is a screen capture software to replace Windows clunky PrtScrn button (see how to use that one here, but don’t spend too long–Jing is much easier). It not only grabs a picture, but a video of what you’re doing. I find this particularly useful to show students and teachers how to perform a skill on the computer. It’s much easier for lots of people to follow visual steps than written ones.

Not only does it capture your screen, your actions, it saves a history of what you’ve done–right there on its icon.

Price

Free. There is a membership you can buy which allows you to save video as mpeg (rather than swf), share instantly to YouTube and record from a webcam. Anyone use that? Let us know how it is.

To sign up for Weekend Websites delivered to your email, click Weekend Websites here and leave your email.


Jacqui Murray has been teaching K-8 technology for 15 years. She is the editor of a K-8 technology curriculum, K-8 keyboard curriculum, K-8 Digital Citizenship curriculum, and creator of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. She is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, presentation reviewer for CSTA, Cisco guest blogger, a monthly contributor to TeachHUB, columnist for Examiner.com, featured blogger for Technology in Education, and IMS tech expert. Currently, she’s editing a techno-thriller that should be out to publishers next summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me

7 thoughts on “Weekend Website #1: Jing

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Weekend Website #1: Jing « Ask a Tech Teacher -- Topsy.com

    • I used to use Printkey 2000. Wonderful in the year 2000, and uses much less resources if that’s an issue–but no text, highlighting, etc. Jing is my favorite now.

  2. Great website. Thanks so much. I’d like to sign up for the Weekend Websites email deliveries but I get an error message each time I click on the link.

    • Thanks, Ann! And thanks for letting me know about the broken link. I’ve now fixed it. The post is 3-years old and I’ve changed a few things in that time.

      No worries about revisiting the sign-up. I’ll take care of that for you. Have a great weekend!

  3. I was a Jing Pro subscriber for the past couple of years.Unfortunately, Techsmith has retired the Pro version. I had gone Pro because I needed more than the 5 minute video limit of Jing and wanted more than the swf format. That said, if you need to do simple, short screen captures, free Jing certainly comes in handy and is very easy to use.

    • I use Jing a lot, though I wish it activated with the Printscreen key like Printkey 2000 does. I use Snaggit for videos–also from Techsmith–so I can save videos in MP4 format.

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

