research / social networks / teacher resources

Will All Twitter Users Please Twand Up

I use Twitter to stay focused on my particular tech ed interest. Here are some of my thoughts:

I tweet about sites I find on that topic, posts I add to my blogs and questions I have about that. I DON’T Tweet on what I’m having for dinner or who is coming over that evening. I find Twitter:

  • gives me a quick rundown of what my colleagues are thinking about
  • tells me the top tech ed topics at the moment
  • since I don’t link up with anyone other than people serious about my field, I don’t get annoyed by the fluff–there are lots of those people in the Twittersphere

Surprisingly, there are more people like me than those other folk who originally gave Twitter a bad name as a useless fluff of a tool.

Want some information on Twitter users? Here’s a graphical survey from Flowtown that you’ll enjoy:

Who’s Using Twitter And How They’re Using It
Flowtown – Social Media Marketing Application

Here’s the breakdown of people like me:

  • 6% of my age group tweet and 9% of my gender tweet
  • 10% of my income level tweet, but only 5% of my ethnicity
  • 9% of my education achievement tweet as well as 8% of those who live where I do
  • more people tweet about work updates and links to relevant news stories than any other single reason (I’ve combined two)

Does this profile fit you? Let me know.

Share

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

