8th grade / cloud computing / fifth grade / middle school technology / teacher resources / websites

Weekend Website #48: Wolfram|Alpha for Educators

Every Friday I’ll send you a wonderful website that my classes and my parents love. I think you’ll find they’ll be a favorite of your students as they are of mine.

wolfram alpha

A new focus on educators

Age:

4th-college

Topic:

All

Address:

Wolfram|Alpha for Educators

Review:

I’ve used Wolfram|Alpha (a free online computational knowledge engine that generates answers to questions in real time by doing computations on its own vast internal knowledge base) with mixed results (my fault, not theirs. I haven’t taken the time to think outside the box enough to appreciate WA’s strengths). Now, I find out from fellow-blogger Ralph that they’ve launched an arm aimed at educators, like you and me.  This includes:

  • gather information on a general concept
  • research details of specific topics
  • assist in lesson plans
  • create visual aids for presentations or handouts, including images and graphs
  • show steps to math problems
  • assign homework based on information in Wolfram|Alpha

Additionally, the website offers:

  • Mathworld for teaching math
  • Wolfram Demonstrations Project

But–here’s my but–I’ve always considered Wolfram|Alpha more suited to older age groups than my k-5 kids. Anyone out there use it for younger groups? If so, how? I’d sure appreciate your thoughts.

To sign up for Weekend Websites delivered to your email, click Weekend Websites here and leave your email.

Follow me


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and author of two technology training books for middle school. She wrote Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman.  She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything and Technology in Education. Currently, she’s working on a techno-thriller that should be ready this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office, WordDreams, or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Share

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

