classroom management / Excel / free tech resources / MS Excel / MS Word / PowerPoint / teacher resources / Tech Tips

Tech Tip #62: Email from Word (Or PowerPoint or Excel)

tech tips

In my fifteen years of teaching and tutoring tech, I’ve seen everything–and come up with solutions for all of it. I’ll share those with you. My goal: That students (of all ages) feel empowered not frightened by technology, that it is fun not frustrating. These tips will get you there with you and your kids.

I was helping one of the faculty at my school. She couldn’t print a document (server problems) so I suggested she email it to herself at home and print it there. She started going online to her Yahoo account and I stopped her. Click the email tool on the Word toolbar. She was so excited–an epiphany! What fun to share that with her. She was so happy about it, I’m going to email it to all the teachers in the school (I’m the tech teacher).

Questions you want answered? Leave a comment here and I’ll answer it within the next thirty days.

To sign up for Tech Tips delivered to your email, click here.

Follow me


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and author of two technology training books for middle school. She wrote Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a tech columnist for Examiner.com, Editorial Review Board member for  ISTE’s Journal for Computing Teachers, IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything. Currently, she’s seeking representation for a techno-thriller that she just finished. Any ideas? Contact Jacqui at her writing office, WordDreams, or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.


2 thoughts on “Tech Tip #62: Email from Word (Or PowerPoint or Excel)

  1. I have WORD 2010 and Vista; I can’t seem to find the “Click the email tool on the Word toolbar.”
    I did go to Add-ins and saw the spot “Mail recipient as Adobe PDF” I couldn’t click it to get it to do anything. and I do not have the ability to make a WORD document into a PDF and then be able to change/edit that document after it is an ADOBE PDF. Also I do not use OUTLOOK.
    HELP

    • I’m looking at 2007 right now, but let me see if I can explain. The easiest way is to add ’email’ to the Quick Access Toolbar so you don’t have to look for it. The Quick Access Toolbar is directly above or below the ribbon and lists tools you use the most. It’s customizable by clicking the down-arrow on the right side and selecting ’email’. Then click the tool and it’ll open up your email program with the Word doc attached in Word format:
      Step 1
      Step 2
      Step 3
      Step 4

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

