classroom management / Tech ed

Help! I Need Your Input

As many of you know, I am the author of a technology curriculum for K-8. While it isn’t based on any one platform or software (be it Mac or Windows or Linux, or Office 2003 or 2010), I do give hints here and there on how to accomplish the required skills (i.e., how to add a table to Word). When I wrote the textbooks, most people used Office 2003 so the hints are tied into Office 2003.

I know sometime soon I’ll have to upgrade those ‘hints’ to Office 2010, but I’m not sure when to pull that trigger. The biggest difference between the two versions is the layout with toolbars or ribbons. A lot of people I know haven’t made that leap yet. It’s a major change in the intuitive understanding of the program and then there’s the cost.

That’s where I’d appreciate your input. Which do you use at school–Office 2003 or Office 2007/2010. Please pick your answer on the poll below and thanks for your assistance!

Share

5 thoughts on “Help! I Need Your Input

  1. Pingback: Help! I Need Your Input « Ask a Tech Teacher

  2. Jacqui, I run both Office 2007 on the PC and and Office 2011 on the Mac. There are some common features in the look and feel, but each is different from the other.

    I might suggest that you indeed start on updates, but you may want to consider looking at this on a cross-platform basis, as the Office for Mac version has a growing audience. If you’re familiar with it, then that’s great. If not, let me know and I may be able to help.

    Regards,

    John Williamson

    • Thanks, John. So far, the feedback seems to be that more people are on 2007 than I thought. Thanks for the offer. I may have to call you when I get started.

      BTW–I made my Vine Voice selections. Fun!

  3. Hi Jacqui,

    Our school district has mainly 2003, but any new computer purchased runs 2010 – if our district has 2010, then it’s time to provide updates – if our district, which still hasabout 50% of student computers running Windows 2000, and we have Office 2010 well….

    • Very helpful. Thanks, Tandra. It seems over half of school districts are on 2007/10 and a third aren’t on Word at all. It’s given me a lot to think about.

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

