art

Tech Tip #82: My Picture’s a TIFF and the Program Needs a JPG

tech tipsAs a working technology teacher, I get hundreds of questions from parents about their home computers, how to do stuff, how to solve problems. Each Tuesday, I’ll share one of those with you. They’re always brief and always focused. Enjoy!

Q: My picture file is a .bmp and I need a .jpg. What do I do?

A: Blogs and wikis and lots of online sites won’t accept .bmp image files. I no longer even save pictures in that format because so much of what I do is collaborative, which means online.

If you have an image you want to use, but it’s in this .bmp format, here’s what you do:

  • Open it in MS Paint (which comes with Windows) or Photoshop
  • save-as a .jpg.

That’s it. Problem over.

Questions you want answered? Email me at askatechteacher@structuredlearning.net and I’ll answer it within the next thirty days.

To sign up for Tech Tips delivered to your email, click here.


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and creator of two technology training books for middle school. She is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman.  She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com, an ISTE article reviewer, a tech expert for IMS, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything and Technology in Education. Currently, she’s working on a techno-thriller that should be ready this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me

5 thoughts on “Tech Tip #82: My Picture’s a TIFF and the Program Needs a JPG

  1. I am a K-8 Computer Teacher. I am getting Kindergarten for the first time this year. I am really nervous about it. I just wanted to share that I found some great tips in your article. I really enjoy your website and I really appreciate all of the work that you put in to it. It really helps new teachers out like me! Thanks so much for all that you do! I love it!

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Jessica. You’ll soon find kindergarten to be some of your most fun classes. They love everything you teach. Start with mouse skills (I have some great websites on one of the posts here, and the Mouse Song is a winner, too), then drawing in Kidpix or Tuxpaint. You can spice things up with 10-15 minutes of typing every class in Brown Bear or TTL Jr., and finish it up with work on their letters in 3-4 sites I have on the blog, one being Starfall letters. The class flies by. I hope you drop in later this school year and tell us-all how it’s going.

      • Thank you very much for your tips, I am definitely trying to figure out where to begin with them, I will try your advice and definitely let you know how it works.

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

