free tech resources / internet / Tech Tips / Web 2.0

Tech Tip #85: Browser Problem? Switch Browsers

tech tipsAs a working technology teacher, I get hundreds of questions from parents about their home computers, how to do stuff, how to solve problems. Each Tuesday, I’ll share one of those with you. They’re always brief and always focused. Enjoy!

Q:My browser has been working fine, but lately, it doesn’t bring up some of the stuff on my start page? What do I do?

A: The quick answer is, switch browsers. Sometimes you load programs/system or operating files on your computer that conflict with your current browser. Everything that had been working fine suddenly doesn’t. That just happened to me. I have used FireFox for years with iGoogle as my start page with all my favorite widgets loaded so I got a quick overview of my world every time I went on the internet. One day, Firefox refused to load half of my RSS feeds. I waited a week, another week, and nothing changed. I tried my start page on Internet Explorer with the same result. I did a really adventurous move and downloaded a browser I’ve never before used called Google Chrome, tried my startpage in that and all has been fine ever since.

I have no idea what Mozilla and IE did to change things, or what in the internet world changed. All I know is my startpage didn’t work and now it does because I switched to Google Chrome.

To sign up for Tech Tips delivered to your email, click here.

___________________________________________________________________________________

Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and creator of two technology training books for middle school. She is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything and Technology in Education. Currently, she’s working on a techno-thriller that should be ready this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me


2 thoughts on “Tech Tip #85: Browser Problem? Switch Browsers

  1. So simple, yet so true, Jacqui! I have also become a huge fan of Google Chrome in recent months for the same reason. I have also heard that it is “safer” from hacks at the moment – probably only until the hackers work their way into it though! But it works so much more smoothly than Firefox most of the time for me.

    • There are so many techie fixes like this. Things like reboot, turn it off–wait ten seconds and turn it on. That stuff works more often than you think. I’ve even tried yelling the F*** word and that works! Who knew?

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

