Science / teacher resources / websites

Weekend Website #66: What’s Your Carbon Footprint

Every Friday I’ll send you a wonderful website that my classes and my parents love. I think you’ll find they’ll be a favorite of your students as they are of mine.

Age:

3rd-8th

Topic:

Ecology, science

Address:

Carbon Footprint Calculator

Review:

This is a fun, albeit simplistic approach to carbon counting. As a teacher, I find it a wonderfully understandable way to deliver the message to students that the size of their carbon footprint matters. This site has a few easy fill-ins about family cars, travel and where the reader lives, then calculates an average carbon footprint. For example, when I answered the four or five easy questions about my home (with lots of prompts about what ‘average’ was in my area–which I can see students defaulting to), it gave me a rundown on my profile:

carbon footprint

My home-based carbon footprint

I’m below the national average. For those curious souls, the site provides background on this data and explains how they calculate it–great for students. You can also click around to read the latest news on carbon, with headlines like The transparency of plastics and Sorry, we’re all full (at this landfill)

Overall, a useful website for carbon basics.

Follow me

–from 55 Technology Projects for the Digital Classroom. Preview available on Amazon.com and Scribd.com


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and creator of two technology training books for middle school. She is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman.  She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything and Technology in Education. Currently, she’s working on a techno-thriller that should be ready this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

3 thoughts on “Weekend Website #66: What’s Your Carbon Footprint

  1. I took the carbon footprint test and ended up above the national average at 13,356 lbs. CO2 per year for my residence. It’s HOT where I live and I run several room fans nearly 24 / 7 in the summer, plus the air conditioner all summer. i have too many computers running all the time (5) and too many gadgets charging. I need to consolidate and unlug a thing or two!!

    Thanks for providing the link to the terrapass site. It is a bit simplistic, but interesting none the less.

    • I think it’s mostly geared to be a reminder of what we use, nothing else. Look at Al Gore’s response to conserving resources! Not that I suggest we follow that model. Real life requires a rational approach. You like me are a techie and we require more electricity, maybe less gas (we like to do things online). BTW, love your suggestions on the Elementary tech teacher’s forum.

  2. Pingback: Obama’s birth certificate’s carbon footprint | Climate of Our Future

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

