Geography / Google Earth / History / kidpix / lesson plans / projects / second grade

#42: Where Did I Come From?

Students find their country of origin on Google Earth and grab a screen shot of it. Save to their computer. Import it into KidPix and add the country flag and student name. Students learn about importing data from one program to another with this project.

lesson plan

Use Google Earth in Second Grade

–from 55 Technology Projects for the Digital Classroom. Preview available on Amazon.com and Scribd.com

Follow me


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and creator of two technology training books for middle school. She is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman.  She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything and Technology in Education. Currently, she’s working on a techno-thriller that should be ready this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

2 thoughts on “#42: Where Did I Come From?

  1. Hi Jacqui,

    I’m so happy to have found your website! So much great information for me to read and try out (I’m a brand new computer lab teacher for grades 3-6). I also bought both volumes of your 55 Technology Projects for the Digital Classroom.

    I have a question for you. As a new tech teacher, I don’t know much about servers. I have a Mac lab right now with 31 iMac g5s and 1 newer iMac that I use. At this point, each computer is on its own. The old teacher set it up this way. Also, each computer has a user for each grade level. This means, at the start of the school year, I had to go through every single computer x 4 users and delete all the old documents, pictures, users on the typing program, etc. My principal said he’s willing to buy a server for the lab, but another tech teacher told me that it’s a lot of trouble.

    As I said, I don’t know much about servers and how they relate to the elementary computer lab, so I would like to know your opinion. Is it a good idea? I would imagine it would make resetting for the new year much easier. Are there any articles/websites that you could point me to that might give me more info about servers and their use in the computer lab?

    Thanks so much for your blog and for your help!
    Danielle

    • Thanks for the kind words, Danielle. Teaching tech is so much fun–and challenging. Welcome to the tech ed world! We have a server here at my school and it’s wonderful. I don’t manage the server so I don’t know how much trouble it is. One recommendation I can make is with or without a server, if you image one computer the way you like it, use that image for all the computers. At least then, you’re not recreating the wheel each time.

      Good luck and feel free to ask lots of questions!

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

