8th grade / fifth grade / Science / Tech ed / Web 2.0 / websites

Weekend Website #75: Solar System Scope

Every Friday I’ll send you a wonderful website that my classes and my parents love. I think you’ll find they’ll be a favorite of your students as they are of mine.

3d space

Interactive space on steroids

Age:

2nd-8th

Topic:

Space

Address:

Solar System Scope

Review:

An interactive trip through the solar system that can be embedded into a web page (must take Flash, so not WP.com, but it worked fine on my WP.org side) or a start page (click to see my sample). what a great way to get kids excited about space.

One downside: the music. It plays automatically. I put this website on the class internet start page and now, every time students open the start page to go to any website, the music starts. If that start page is open, the music plays over everything. It can be turned off, but it took a while for me to figure that out. As a result, I’ve removed it as an embedded website and left only the link.

Follow me

To sign up for Weekend Websites delivered to your email, click Weekend Websites here and leave your email.


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and author of two technology training books for middle school. She wrote Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com, an Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, an IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything and Technology in Education. Currently, she’s working on a techno-thriller that should be ready this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office, WordDreams, or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

2 thoughts on “Weekend Website #75: Solar System Scope

    • It is cool, isn’t it? And it’s a free widget. I put it on the students’ internet start page, my blog–lots of places. I do wish the music didn’t start automatically. It’s not intuitive to turn it off.

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

