Keyboarding / news

Ask a Tech Teacher Takes to Radio

That’s right. I have a radio appearance coming up on Wednesday, October 12th, 9am (ET–which means I’ll be up and gabbing at 6am my time) on Rae Pica’s BAM! Radio show, Body, Mind & Child to discuss ‘When should keyboarding be taught? (I’m on at 6am, so catch the replay) Anyone who knows me understands why they reached out to me on that topic. I’ll be sharing the mic with Cris Rowan, CEO of Zone’in Programs Inc. and Sunshine Coast Occupational Therapy Inc.

As I chat with parents and readers of my blogs and guest posts, keyboarding is among the top five topics they always ask about. When should it be taught? How do you start kids? Can keyboarding too early harm children? Keyboarding is my second most popular post (after my collection of child-friendly websites).  I’ve written more posts on this subject than any other, including:

There’s also tremendous interest in shortkeys, aka keyboard shortcuts:

…and the prequel to keyboarding–mouse skills:

Cris believes in unplugging kids while I plug them into all the exciting ways to experience technology. Should be a fun discussion.

Anyone have experience on radio appearances, I’d love your thoughts. What should I wear?

___________________________________________________________________________________

Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and creator of two technology training books for middle school. She is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything and Technology in Education. Currently, she’s working on a techno-thriller that should be ready this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me

8 thoughts on “Ask a Tech Teacher Takes to Radio

  1. Jacqui, Glad to see Dance Mat on there. It’s a long time favorite. I do this in late 2nd grade (and with 3rd this year) with a folded passport. We do a lesson a week, 2 weeks on, 1 week off, so it doesn’t get stale. They get a sticker or stamp for each lesson completed. They can color the fronts of their passport. That little sticker is a great motivator.

    • I like the passport idea, Scott. How exactly do you use that? I used TTL4 last year, which provides a wall chart I updated with which lesson students were on, but DanceMat doesn’t have that sort of interface. Maybe your Passport does that? Thanks for the info.

  2. The passport has 8 pages (2 papers folded in quarters, stapled in a booklet). The cover, student information, each of the four Levels, then a page for “Other Endorsements” and the back cover. The inside looks like this on each page:

    Level 2

    Stage 4 t and y

    (Sticker goes here)

    Stage 5 w and o

    (here)

    Stage 6 q and p

    (and here)

    Other endorsements can be a label with “I can name the home row in order” or “I can put the keyboard in order” which uses ABCya.com (http://www.abcya.com/keyboard.htm). If you want a copy of the passport in Word, I can send it out (scottinphilly at gmail.com).

    • I love this idea, Scott. By far, the most-oft requested topic on my blog is keyboarding. Would you consider shaping this into a post to share with readers? Add pictures of the passport? Kids love memorializing their progress and this sounds so perfect for what is usually a dry topic like keyboarding. Let me know if that’s of interest to you. If you have a blog/wiki/website, I’d love to share a link to it so readers can get more ideas from you.

      No worries if that isn’t your thing.

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

