free tech resources / lesson plans / Web 2.0

Using Skype in the Classroom

I received this email from one of my readers, Betsy Weigle at Classroom Teacher Resources:

classrooms

in the classroom

I think your readers may find this page on how to use Skype to connect with classroom or experts/authors across the country helpful. It includes videos of the process as well as a free preparation checklist.

I’ve been considering a Skype project so I ran over to her website to see what she had to say. I was impressed with the thoroughness of her lesson plan and details she covered. If you’re interested in using Skype to collaborate around the world, check out this article.

Follow me


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and author of two technology training books for middle school. She wrote Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, ISTE article reviewer, IMS tech expert, a columnist for Examiner.com, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything and Technology in Education. Currently, she’s working on a techno-thriller that should be ready this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office, WordDreams, or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

7 thoughts on “Using Skype in the Classroom

  1. Hi Jacqui,

    Not sure if this helps but my research supervisors and I use skype for conferencing.on a regular basis and apart from the occasional sound distortion issue (probably due to latency on a users broadband) it has worked very well. One thing to take into account though will be issues relating to firewall rules that block access to the Skype system over education networks.

    I hope this helps

    Paul H

  2. Hi all:
    We have been using Skype to connect with schools in other countries. We are on México. Our students and teachers enjoy the opportunity to share experiences, tradition and culture through the use of this tool. I really recommend the use of it to work on collaborative projects between schools around the world.
    I’ve used it to talk with teachers in other countries.
    It has worked fine for us
    Regards
    Margarita R, Ruiz
    Instituto D’Amicis, A. C.
    IB K-12 Bilingual School
    Puebla, México

    • Hi Margarita
      We too are an IB school. I just met a teacher from an IB school in Mexico–Cindy Barry. She’s retired. I was quite impressed with what she was doing at her school.

      If you’re interested, I’ll check with the teachers at my school and see if anyone is looking to make a connection. What grade do you teach?

  3. Pingback: Skype an Author Network | The Neophyte Writer

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

