first grade / Keyboarding / Kindergarten / opinion

Keyboarding for Youngers? There are Three Sides to the Story

Is Teaching Keyboarding in Kindergarten Developmentally Appropriate?pic
Rae Pica with Cris Rowan, Jacqui Murray, Lisa Guernsey

Many argue that teaching penmanship is a thing of the past, but at what age should children be taught to use a computer keyboard? Some are starting as early as kindergarten, but is it developmentally appropriate? We turn to a panel of experts for guidance on when to start teaching children to hunt and peck and use proper finger placement.

Listen to the radio broadcast here. Here’s a summary I posted earlier, then, read my article What Should You Expect of Younger Keyboarders?, also on BAM Radio.

What’s your opinion on keyboarding for K-2?

Follow me


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and author of two technology training books for middle school. She wrote Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything and Technology in Education. Currently, she’s seeking representation for a techno-thriller she just finished. Query letters to agents is not for the faint of heart. Contact Jacqui at her writing office, WordDreams, or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

5 thoughts on “Keyboarding for Youngers? There are Three Sides to the Story

    • I think I had a problem myself at first. I did manage to solve it. It’s interesting hearing your own voice over the radio. It doesn’t sound like me! Have you done radio appearances?

      • You know, I’ve never done a radio broadcast, but I hearing myself on answering machines is weird enough! My voice doesn’t sound anything like what I think it should.

  1. Pingback: Why Keyboarding Should NOT be Dead | Ask a Tech Teacher

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

