MS Excel / MS Word / PowerPoint / Tech Tips

Tech Tip #98: Speed up MS Office with Quick Access Toolbar

tech tipsAs a working technology teacher, I get hundreds of questions from parents about their home computers, how to do stuff, how to solve problems. Each Tuesday, I’ll share one of those with you. They’re always brief and always focused. Enjoy!

Q: I tend to do the same actions over and over on my  MS Office software. How do I create a customized tool bar with my favorite tools?

A: This one is going to improved the quality of your tech life immediately. It’s so simple, you’ll wish you’d known it months ago.

First, you need Office 2007 or 2010 because earlier versions don’t include the Quick Access toolbar. It looks like this:

quick access toolbar

Quick Access toolbar--above or below the ribbons. I like below because I can see it better.

If you click the drop down arrow, you get the most popular actions–new, open, save, print, etc.

Customize Quick Access toolbar on Office 2010

Check off all those you want to appear on the toolbar. Toward the bottom is a choice to have the QA toolbar above or below the ribbon. I choose below because I find it more easily there. If there are tools you use frequently you wish were included (for example, I use the strike through a lot in my writing), select ‘customize’ and go find it in the endless list.

Questions you want answered? Email me at askatechteacher@structuredlearning.net.

To sign up for Tech Tips delivered to your email, click here.

Follow me

Image credit: How-to Geek


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and author of two technology training books for middle school. She wrote Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a tech columnist for Examiner.com, Editorial Review Board member for ISTE’s Journal for Computing Teachers, IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything. Currently, she’s seeking representation for a techno-thriller Any suggestions? Contact Jacqui at her writing office, WordDreams, or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

One thought on “Tech Tip #98: Speed up MS Office with Quick Access Toolbar

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

