free tech resources / K-5 Tech training / teacher resources / Tech ed / Tech Tips

10 Hits and 10 Misses for 2011

Since I started this blog thirty months ago, I’ve had over 324,000 visitors–double last year–visiting the 570 articles I’ve written on

hits and misses

Top 10 hits and misses for 2011

every facet of integrating technology into the classroom. They may be about how to use wikis or blogs in the classroom or what I’ve learned from my students as we got through another tech week. I have regular features, like Monday Freebies, Tech Tip Tuesdays and Weekend Websites. I post a lot of lesson plans that have worked for me and share my thoughts on other ideas that affect teachers trying to tech-ify their classrooms. It’s a fast changing world. I’m just trying to hang on and share the ride.

It always surprises what my readers find to be the most provocative and least interesting. The latter is as likely to be a post I put heart and soul into, sure I was sharing Very Important Information, as the former. Talk about humility.

A few side notes about my year:

  • The busiest month was November. In 2010, it was September
  • The deadest month was February. In 2010, it was June.

Without further distraction, here they are–the Top Ten Hits and Misses of 2011:

Top Ten Hits

though I’ve skipped any that have to do with website reviews. That, I cover in the post about the top websites last year:

  1. Great Websites (this won by a landslide)
  2. 3 Projects to Integrate Tech into an Animals Unit–Part I
  3. Lesson Plans
  4. Where Would You Like to Go Today?
  5. #112: 10 Ways Twitter Makes You a Better Writer
  6. Tech Tips
  7. Nineteen Ways to Use Spare Classroom Time
  8. How to Become Survivorman–or Bear Grylls–in Third Grade
  9. #46: How to Use Technology to Teach Landforms
  10. 19 Free Posters For Your Tech Lab

I get the message–readers want lesson plans and tech ideas. I’ve written quite a few pedagogy articles about tech ed and none of them ranked higher than #20.

Top Ten Misses

  1. How to Automate an MLA Heading
  2. Free Online Tech Classes From MIT and Others
  3. Middle School Programmers: Meet Alice
  4. What’s Your Carbon Footprint
  5. How to Use Second Life for Teaching
  6. Girl Falls Into Manhole While Texting, Parents Sue
  7. Can Technology Help Teachers Plan?
  8. #33: Grow Your Story
  9. End of the Week Laugher #5
  10. End-of-the-week-Laugher #2

I was surprised my attempts at humor flopped. I only published 5 of them and the other three came in at similarly abysmal placements. That’s fine because I’m not a funny person. It’s work for me so I’ll stick to what I do better.

Did you have a favorite among you agreed/disagreed with? I’d love to know. Take a moment to answer this poll:


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and author of two technology training books for middle school. She wrote Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a tech columnist for Examiner.comEditorial Review Board member for ISTE’s Journal for Computing TeachersIMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything. Currently, she’s seeking representation for a techno-thriller Any suggestions? Contact Jacqui at her writing office, WordDreams, or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

2 thoughts on “10 Hits and 10 Misses for 2011

  1. It’s always intriguing to see exactly what draws in the readers. I’m not surprised that your lesson plans and tech ideas are what everyone seems to want from you though – I can only imagine how valuable other teachers find them. Especially new teachers – must be heaven for them!

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

