classroom management / internet

Curious About ChromeBooks? Watch These

google

Can you run your classroom with internet-only laptops?

Let me back up a moment. Chromebooks are Google’s internet-only laptops. You don’t install software or wrestle with an operating system. Everything is done online, which means faster boot-ups and longer battery life (can you believe up to a day on one charge?).

I see tremendous value to getting students to Web 2.0 classroom connections faster. In my classrooms, we spend about half the time on internet sites like Google Earth (you can use it online), Big Huge Labs, online typing sites and more. I conceptually can see online connections for many projects that I simply haven’t pursued because there’s been no need. If software wasn’t there, I’d find the connection and be equally satisfied.

Despite that, there remains a significant need to use word processing software like MS Word for reports etc (though MS 360 solves that if you want to pay for a subscription). My students love Publisher projects and PowerPoint slideshows, but I think we could morph to online sites like Glogster and (fill in the blank for an online PowerPoint look-alike).

My e-colleague, TimeThief, found two great videos on Chromebooks.

Anyone using these in your school? Me, we’re still focused on iPads so haven’t got our techie brains around the next step, Chromebooks.

Follow me


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and author of two technology training books for middle school. She wrote Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a tech columnist for Examiner.com, Editorial Review Board member for ISTE’s Journal for Computing Teachers, IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything. Currently, she’s editing a thriller for her agent that should be be out to publishers this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

10 thoughts on “Curious About ChromeBooks? Watch These

  1. Hehe, the reference to “no messy desktop” reminded me that I still need to work on un-messying my own desktop! Cool stuff, though. I love being able to have stuff “out there” online for easy access from anywhere. I have a Mac at home, and a PC at work – whenever I try transferring things using hard drives or memory sticks, it’s only a matter of time before the hard drive or memory stick becomes fried. For some reason, they don’t seem to like the swapping from one to another. I think it’s mostly on the PC-side. My work PC has always given me a variety of problems. You’d think working at MIT would give you prime access to IT support……..hmmm. So I’m a big lover of working online.

    • Interesting. I have PCs at both places, so no problems. My flash drive has ended up the primary drive for a lot of my work because it crosses the lines of home-work. I should be able to store it on Google Docs, but I’m not there yet. I’m thinking of MS 360, but that costs money. The world is evolving…

      So why don’t you have great IT support? MIT evokes images of nerds and geeks who eat IT for breakfast.

  2. I think the full power of Chromebooks can really only be used effectively if your district or students have access to the Google apps, such as documents, presentations, spreadsheets. Then the need for Microsoft Word, etc. is eliminated.

    Google docs can be downloaded or saved in Word format so students can then move them to use on another computer.

  3. Having read this I believed it was rather informative. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this information together. I once again find myself personally spending a significant amount of time both reading and posting comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  4. Very nice video presentation. :)) That is a good tip especially to those fresh to the blogosphere. Brief but very precise information… Thank you for sharing this one. A must read article!

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

