problem solving / teacher resources / Web 2.0 / websites

Weekend Website #96: Embedit.in

Every Friday, I’ll send you a wonderful website (or more) that my classes and my parents love. I think you’ll find they’ll be a favorite of your students as they are of mine.

embedit

Embed any website or file into a wiki, blog and more

Address:

Embedit.In

Age:

4th and up

Topic:

Utility, sharing

Review

Embedit.In (part of Box.net) is a nifty online tool to convert most file formats to embeddable code for wikis, websites, blogs and more. Once embedded, you can write on them with an onscreen pen or highlight. When you upload the document and push ’embed’, it provides a code to be copied and shows what the file will look like when it’s embedded.

I have 5th graders use it to embed their projects into their wiki pages. I teach them how to save MS Office files to pdfs (through the ‘save as’ button) and then convert the file to an embeddable format for their digital portfolios.

Here’s all you do:

  • Log in using your Google, Twitter, Open ID, Yahoo, WordPress or AOL identity. I like that. One less log-in to remember.
  • Upload the file
  • Wait a moment while it processes and copy the embed code to the clipboard
  • Paste the html code into the widget or embed code (or the html format for blogs) button and save.

Here’s an example:

[intentionally blank]

OK. It won’t embed into my WP.COM website because of the flash, but it works fine in my WP.ORG homeschooler‘s blog and on my 5th grade class wiki. Click the links and see what it looks like.

You can also embed websites. Here’s the website of my curriculum publisher (from my WP.ORG blog):

[intentionally blank]

If you’re looking for ways to publish your student work or share it, this is a great tool and satisfies requirements of IB, Common Core Standards and NETs.

If you use it in your classes, how do you incorporate it into your curriculum?

To sign up for Weekend Websites delivered to your email, click Weekend Websites here.


Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-sixth grade, creator of two technology training books for middle school and three ebooks on technology in education. She is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for six blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything. Currently, she’s editing a thriller for her agent that should be out to publishers this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me

6 thoughts on “Weekend Website #96: Embedit.in

    • It works beautifully for most projects. PowerPoint loses some of its pizzazz, but I have yet to find a share program that’s free and doesn’t downsize PowerPoint’s activity.

      I’m glad this was helpful for you.

  1. I’m confused. My 5th graders have Weebly websites and I have them insert everything using Weebly tools. Is there a reason I should use this instead?

    • Absolutely not. I don’t personally use Weebly (though I’ve heard lots of good reports about it), but most websites limit what can be embedded. For example, you can’t embed PowerPoint slideshows (with the.pptx extension) or Publisher/Word files that students create and want to share. You can take a screen shot of the file, but that’s it. Embedit takes the original file and embeds it for viewing (not editing).

      You won’t use it for every file, just those that Weebly won’t embed nicely with its tools.

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

