Tech Tips / windows

Tech Tip #69:Change Size of Desktop Icons

As a working technology teacher, I get hundreds of questions from parents about their home computers, how to do stuff, how to solve problems. Each week, I’ll share one of those with you. They’re always brief and always focused. Enjoy!

Q: The desktop icons are tiny on my desktop. I don’t know how it happened, so I don’t know how to undo it. Please help!

A: This solution I learned in self-defense, like many other tips I share, when my students figured it out and made my desktop icons HUGE. Here’s how you fix that:

  • Highlight all desktop icons by click and dragging a box around them
  • Push Ctrl and roll the mouse wheel.
  • It enlarges or delarges for you

That’s it. How wonderful. I no longer have to squint at icons too small for my eyes.

Questions you want answered? Email me at askatechteacher@structuredlearning.net and I’ll answer it within the next thirty days.

To sign up for Tech Tips delivered to your email, click here.

More Windows tips:

25 Techie Problems Every Student Can Fix–Update

Tech Tip #48: Quickly Switch Between Windows

Tech Tip #40: Where Did Windows Explorer Go?


Jacqui Murray has been teaching K-8 technology for 15 years. She is the editor of a K-8 technology curriculum, K-8 keyboard curriculum, K-8 Digital Citizenship curriculum, and creator of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. She is webmaster for six blogs, CSG Master Teacher, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachersa columnist for Examiner.com, IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to TeachHUB. Currently, she’s editing a techno-thriller that should be out to publishers next summer.

Follow me

2 thoughts on “Tech Tip #69:Change Size of Desktop Icons

  1. Common Core has the expectation that we teach correct vocabulary in our content areas. Therefore, I have a major concern with a technology teacher referring to “It enlarges or delarges for you.” I have never heard it referred to as “delarges.” Possibl y a better way to say this would be that it increases or decreases the size of the icons.

    • I like neologisms. I tell students I get to do that because I’m a writer. They have to wait. But ‘delarge’ is a particularly useful one for teaching Common Core’s vocabulary skills for decoding meaning, with the root, prefix and context.

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

