Tech Tip #91: Internet Problems? Switch Browsers

tech tipsAs a working technology teacher, I get hundreds of questions from parents about their home computers, how to do stuff, how to solve problems. Each Tuesday, I’ll share one of those with you. They’re always brief and always focused. Enjoy!

Q: I’m trying to use a website and it keeps telling me Flash isn’t installed. I know it is. I even re-installed it and it wouldn’t work. What do I do?

A: Change browsers. I have this problem more often with Firefox than Explorer in my lab. When students try to use one of the websites on our internet start page and find it won’t run correctly, the first thing I check is which browser they’re in. If it’s Firefox, I switch to IE. That more often than not fixes it.

You may wonder why I have multiple browsers. Some programs work better in certain browsers. For example Google Body used to run only in Chrome. Now, they merely warn you about your browser:

google body

Google Body runs best in Chrome

In kid’s internet websites, there are always lots of them that require Flash and Shockwave, so check the browser you’re using before giving up on the website.

To sign up for Tech Tips delivered to your email, click here.

___________________________________________________________________________________

Jacqui Murray is the editor of a technology curriculum for K-fifth grade and creator of two technology training books for middle school. She is the author of Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy midshipman. She is webmaster for five blogs, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, a columnist for Examiner.com, Editorial Review Board member for ISTE’s Journal for Computing Teachers, IMS tech expert, and a weekly contributor to Write Anything and Technology in Education. Currently, she’s working on a techno-thriller that should be ready this summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me


Categories: Tech Tips, websites | Tags: , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Tech Tip #91: Internet Problems? Switch Browsers

  1. BioScientific

    I’ve definitely had a lot of issues like this – over the past year especially. I’ve now become a big fan of Google Chrome, it seems to have helped me out with most of the issues I’ve had.

    Like

    • Lots of people I know are turning to Google Chrome. I’m on the verge of switching because Firefox crashes so darn much. Why do I put up with it?

      Like

  2. Pingback: Tech Tip #99: Top Ten Internetting Hints « Ask a Tech Teacher

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.