Weekend Website #125: Starfall Math

Every week, I share a website that inspired my students. Here’s one you may have missed. Starfall is a lot more than reading…

startfall more

Age:

K-2

Topic:

Math, music

Address:

Starfall More

Review:

This is a great addition to the traditional Starfall Reading materials. It covers math, music, even a kindergarten curriculum.

One significant change: some materials include a membership and a fee.  That hasn’t bothered my classes at all as there are so many that are free. The math materials have become a favorite of our sponge time.

To sign up for Weekend Websites delivered to your email, click Weekend Websites here and leave your email.




Jacqui Murray has been teaching K-8 technology for 15 years. She is the editor of a K-8 technology curriculum, K-8 keyboard curriculum, K-8 Digital Citizenship curriculum, and creator of technology training books for how to integrate technology in education. She is the author of the popular Building a Midshipman, the story of her daughter’s journey from high school to United States Naval Academy. She is webmaster for six blogs, CSG master teacher, an Amazon Vine Voice book reviewer, Editorial Review Board member for Journal for Computing Teachers, presentation reviewer for CSTA, Cisco guest blogger, a monthly contributor to TeachHUB, columnist for Examiner.com, featured blogger for Technology in Education, and IMS tech expert. Currently, she’s editing a techno-thriller that should be out to publishers next summer. Contact Jacqui at her writing office or her tech lab, Ask a Tech Teacher.

Follow me

Categories: first grade, Kindergarten, Parent resources, second grade, websites | Tags: , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Weekend Website #125: Starfall Math

  1. Pingback: Weekend Website #125: Starfall Math | Tablets,S...

    • I have used Starfall in my Kindergarten classroom often. I love this site as it is engaging and it has allowed me to differentiate student learning when my children are at the computer center. Thanks for sharing a great site!

      Like

      • Thanks for the feedback, Tina! It’s so much more authentic when the classroom teacher weighs in with their experiences.

        BTW–love your blog.

        Like

  2. Jacqui,

    Starfall is a great site. Do your readers also know of http://hoodamath.com ? This is a great site for puzzles, logic problems and others. I really rate it.

    David

    Like

  3. Lani

    Yes, both Starfall & HoodaMath are staples and students love them. I have had my younger students utilize Starfall for many years as there are so many options & classroom teachers are appreciative of their students spend time on it. I was introduced to Hoodamath.com a couple of years ago- it was a ‘gift,’ with especially difficult students/classes. Presently, as my classes are being given time to explore my selection of new websites for ‘sponge time,’ they are extremely reluctant to try anything new! (pbs.org or coolmath.com is their comfort zone!) When they finally try some of the new sites Jacqui has posted, they are getting more excited. Hoodamath is becoming a favorite new go to. Thank you Jacqui, for all you share! You are my guru!

    Like

What do you think? Leave a comment and I'll reply.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.